Barbie Dolls, Stuffed Animals and Laura Ashley

My good friend, Laura, has graciously invited people to read my blog.  She writes for a local publication and is also featured in her own blog ( http://www.lauraleighpackardblog.com/ ).  I am affectionately known as “Mr. Buddy” in some of her writings and it is an honor.  She is sort of like a sister, except she didn’t know me when I was a jerk kid.

Her most recent article highlights a fun party that ended up with a horrific Barbie massacre.  You’ll have to read it all to see how this traumatic event turned into one of her best works.  The picture above was taken a few days later, but I think it captures the theme of a child growing up and, like Andy from Toy Story, putting aside toys that were once so important.   This transformation out of childhood is not such a traumatic event for the kids; but, as I witnessed the night of the massacre, it is a far more moving event for us parents.

Recently, I asked my daughter what she was going to wear for her first day of school.  She excitedly told me of her ensemble that included a grungy T-shirt with a Peace Sign on it (I cringed), khaki shorts, and Chuck Taylor’s with fluorescent shoe laces.  Ok.

My response, “Really?  What if I take you shopping and we pick out a nice, pretty dress?”

Her disdainful answer, “Dad!  Dresses are SO out of style!”

What happened to Laura Ashley?  My baby girl is growing up, and there is absolutely nothing I can do about it.

About mcbud

I am extremely happily married, I have two great kids, I am the hand of the king at a Registered Investment Advisory company, I am addicted to CrossFit, and I try to write.
This entry was posted in Funny, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barbie Dolls, Stuffed Animals and Laura Ashley

  1. Mary says:

    I feel so out of style. I like dresses. Perhaps there is hope that she’ll grown back into those pretty dresses for you daddy.

  2. Awww…thanks Mr. Buddy. You are sweet! So is your story. That puppy dog is kinda freaky though. Remind me to find it a new home where someone will love and play with him…any takers?

Leave a Reply

