Top 10 favorite songs from “The Clash: The Only Band that Matters.”

Stick tells me that if I can’t think of anything to write I should just do random lists.   I guess if you know me well enough, you know this list ain’t random.

Best band in my lifetime, often billed as “The Only Band that Matters.”  The Clash.

If you don’t know them, you should.

Top 10 Songs and a tidbit of lyrics:

10.  Lost in the Supermarket –

I came in for a special offer/guaranteed personality.

9.   Atom Tan –

He finally found the brick wall in his life

8.  Rudie Can’t Fail –

I know that my life makes you nervous/But I tell you I can’t live in service.

7.  Somebody got Murdered –

I’ve been very hungry/ but not enough to kill.

6.  Straight to Hell –

Speaking King’s English in quotation/As railhead towns feel the steel mills rust water froze…

5.   Guns of Brixton –

When they kick at your front door/How you gonna come?

4.   Clampdown –

You don’t owe nothing, so boy get running/It’s the best years of your life they want to steal.

3.  English Civil War –

it was still at the stage of clubs and fists/when that well-known face got beaten to bits

2.   London Calling –

London calling to the Zombies of death/Quit holding out, and draw another breath

1.  White Man in the Hammersmith Palais –

White youth, black youth/Better find another solution/Why not phone up Robin Hood/And ask him for some wealth distribution

R.I.P. Joe Strummer.

About mcbud

I am extremely happily married, I have two great kids, I am the hand of the king at a Registered Investment Advisory company, I am addicted to CrossFit, and I try to write.
This entry was posted in Stuff I like and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 favorite songs from “The Clash: The Only Band that Matters.”

  1. mcbud says:

    11. Spanish Bombs

  2. call me cheese, but I have always liked Train in Vain, and Complete Control. Rock the Casbah would probably also make my top 10, but I don’t know which of yours I would remove.

    Nice list

    • mcbud says:

      Train in Vain wasn’t cheesy back in the 80’s when nobody heard of it. Throw some Annie Lennox covers in and its has gotten a little cheesy. I too love Complete Control and White Riot. Rock the Casbah has really interesting meaning, it was just too much of a commercial success so it hurt the overall coolness.

Leave a Reply

