Food for Thought

Today I took my family to volunteer for a group that was sending 50,000 meals to Haiti.  My wife helped measure out rice, I sealed plastic bags of rice, powdered protein, chicken fat and dried seasonings.  My children helped out by taking the sealed bags and making sure they were flattened out and then delivering them to another group that was stacking and boxing the bagged meals.

I am aware that there are homeless and needy folks right here that don’t have the “luxury” (if you can call it that) of a natural disaster to call attention to their plight.  Some of my friends are jaded about Haiti, Thailand, etc.  Is it fair that we rally around to help a country that hasn’t really done a great job of helping itself while ignoring the 300 or so homeless in our own county?

One person posted a comment on her facebook account that Haiti was more important because more people died there.  Sure, by that standard, I guess it is.  But, is one life any less than 300,000?

I am by no means some do-good Dudley Do-right.  But, I would like everyone that reads this to consider donating some time to local charities that help local families find a meal or something of that nature.

It is easy to get caught up in the most recent Clooney-a-thon and donate $10 on your $350 iPhone and feel like you have helped.  You have, and that $10 surely is needed, but spending 2 hours with my family today was priceless.  We helped 50,000 meals get to needy people and that is great.

Two months ago, we went as a family to help at our local America’s 2nd Harvest and helped pack food for 90 local families in need.  That was priceless as well.

Tonight my kids and I dined on Chicken Fettucini Alfredo that I made.   Ansley Cate, my 8-year-old angel, said, “Dad, I was thinking about those people eating the food we sent them.”  So am I Ansley Cate, so am I.

About mcbud

I am extremely happily married, I have two great kids, I am the hand of the king at a Registered Investment Advisory company, I am addicted to CrossFit, and I try to write.
This entry was posted in Serious and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. Dade says:

    I concur.

    Almighty and most merciful God, we remember before you all poor and neglected persons whom it would be easy for us to forget: the homeless and the destitute, the old and the sick, and all who have none to care for them. Help us to heal those
    who are broken in body or spirit, and to turn their sorrow into joy. Grant this, Father, for the love of your Son, who for our sake became poor, Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

  2. Jim says:

    There are people in need everywhere, that is the unfortunate truth. It is too bad that people criticize when others are helping those in need in places other than their own city. People are motivated in different ways, for different reasons and any charitable act is a step in the right direction – even the $10 from a $350 iPhone.

    It is great that you are helping, and teaching your children charity. Your daughter’s comment shows she was paying attention and is thinking about what she took part of.

    Hopefully, this tragedy in Haiti will inspire more people to see what is happening in their own communities. Great post!

  3. J.P. Douglas says:

    “It’s as simple as the love you take is equal to the love you make.”- The Beatles

  4. ALM says:

    Good post. It especially hits home after being classified as one of “those poor people” after Katrina. I hated the feeling of being one of the people who everyone else felt sorry for and shook their heads over on the morning news and then moved on with their lives, if that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

