I Will Create Anxiety So You Will Tune In Tomorrow

I hate the news.

Not news in and of itself but the newscasts and the billion dollar industry that is cable news.  Their function is not to really inform you of anything.  The local and national news exists, purely, to sell commercials.  It is a money making endeavor.  And, like a good capitalist, I appreciate that.  They use teasers and hyperbole and many would say they even lie to get you to come back for more anxiety and commercials in 24 hours.

My favorite saying is that the news is trying to create short term anxiety so you will tune in again tomorrow.  Their primary goal is to bring you back to the trough so you can woof down your daily ration of  Hollywood scandal, local crime, Wall Street inequities, and global unrest.  Heartburn pills not included.

Pick a channel.  If FOX is fair and balanced then I am a toaster.  CNN and MSNBC?  Those guys make lean so far left they ride donkeys to work.  ABC, NBC, CBS.  More of the same.  Where did you go Walter Cronkite?

If you listen long enough, you will feel good if that is what they are pushing, or you will feel worthless, tired, and beat down.  It depends on the network you are watching and who is living at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.  During Clinton’s stay, he could do no wrong on CNN, but was the anti-Christ on FOX.  Opposite for Bush.  Does anyone on the news today have an objective take?  Jon Stewart, maybe?

I hate that news can’t be without an agenda.  I just want to know what happened today without your ideological subtext.  I just want the news and I would prefer for Diane Sawyer to read it to me.  She is swell.

I will close with a teaser to get you to tune into my “blog” another day (maybe not tomorrow):

Next time I will reveal the winning lottery numbers and the secrets of LOST.

About mcbud

I am extremely happily married, I have two great kids, I am the hand of the king at a Registered Investment Advisory company, I am addicted to CrossFit, and I try to write.
This entry was posted in Things that bug and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Will Create Anxiety So You Will Tune In Tomorrow

  1. Allison says:

    I would say the problem lies with the media in general. Afterall, look at what they did to poor Howard Dean. They put him at the top of the political pile, only to ruin him within hours of an overzealous celebration.

  2. Beth says:

    You are totally right! Love your new blog!

  3. Stick says:

    Cable news and its content is in itself unequivocally allocated to its viewers by what the primary target audience wants to hear.
    In most cases and along all lines of political agenda, viewer ship age is sixty and above, inactive to and without motivation to research and find out facts on their own, they would rather accept others opinions as fact as it was done in Walter Cronkite’s day.
    Broad demographics of society have always been interested in negative media and now with cable news it is easier than ever to pick a political side and cheer for them as a sports fan would cheer for their favorite team.
    Polarization in the mainstream news media is a profitable market that pits one section of American society against one another.
    Not all media is partisan but the great majority of it is and this can only be overcome with research on the viewers part to find the truth and not be spoon fed the bias opinions of the mainstream.

    “In seeking truth you have to get both sides of a story.” – Walter Cronkite

  4. Stick says:

    Thanks for the roll, I returned the favor.

  5. Lynne says:

    How do you already have more readers than I do? I hate you so much.

  6. Bubba says:

    News…lets go make news! Watching the news used to be a habit now I simply read BLOGS like this swell BLOG by Buddy the BLOGGER!

Leave a Reply

